Did you know I do art too?

Hello!

I’ve been wanting to start posting something other than book reviews on her for a while now, but I couldn’t really think of anything that was post worthy! But then I realised, I’m an artist… I could literally post my art!!

I have a funny relationship with art, as I didn’t study it at school at all, I did photography instead! Then I applied to do a Art and Design Foundation course, with the intention of mostly doing photography, but for some reason they didn’t let me?? I ended up spending most days drawing still life using charcoals and I HATED it! So I just left! Then I started drawing in my own time, just for me, and I actually began to enjoy it!

That was four years ago, and I am now heading down the path of applying to do an Illustration degree with the hopes of publishing children’s books and having a bit of a ‘brand’!! I am more excited about the future than I have ever been, and I though I would share with you some of my work!

This is one of my most recent paintings! I wanted to recreate the mortal cup tarot card from the Shadowhunter series! I used gouache and ink, and I had to study various screen caps from the show to try and get the colours and patterns as accurate as I could! I still am not sure whether I should cut it out so it is an actual card, or leave it as a painting? Whatever I decide, I am super pleased with how this one turned out!

This drawing is of my tiefling bard DnD character, Antionette Bur! I used only markers to do this one and I have to say, I wasn’t sure I had enough different pinks when I started and got super stressed that her skin and dress was gonna end up the same colour! But it didn’t and now I have a visual of my favourite girl!! I am currently working on some more drawings of DnD characters, so maybe I will make a whole post dedicated to them soon!

This is one of my all time favourite paintings that I have done! I used watercolour with this one, and I was experiment with a technique I saw in an art book by Hikala! The pairing is of Hermione in the Hogwarts Express, that one year when Harry and Ron drove the flying car! I imagine it was probably the last piece and quiet she ever got! I really enjoy working with watercolour in this way, and actually painting a background too!

This is a painting I did of my ‘Witchsona’. She is an Edwardian witch, with the familiar of a goat!! This one has a bit of an experiment to see if I could manage to make watercolours look like a slightly see through fabric! If you look closely at the sleeves, you may see that I tried my best!! I am actually super jealous of this witch, I wish I had that outfit!!

Sabrina!! I love the Netflix show ‘The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina’ SO much, I watched part two the day it came out! And without giving too much away, in case you haven’t seen it yet, this is from an episode with mandrake plants! It’s such a creative episode and the outfits are some of my favourites!!I cannot wait for part three! Especially now I have seen some of the leaked set photos!!!

Ah Narnia, my first proper fandom! Narnia was my favourite book series when I was a kid, and my favourite movie series too! I practically wanted to be Lucy, I loved how brave she was, how trusting she was, and her outfits!! The outfit I painted is one of my all time favourite movie costumes! I don’t know why exactly, maybe it’s nostalgia? But it is pretty cute! Although I’m not sure I will ever love anything as much as I loved her hair! I wished I had hair like hers, especially in the one scene where she follows Edmund while she’s carrying the candle! I used to watch that scene all the time! Maybe Lucy was my first crush on a girl now that I think about it…. Anyway!! I love this franchise, and I’m pretty pleased with how this painting turned out!!

I want to try and post art like this at least once a month, to keep you updated on my progress but also to keep me motivated in producing new pieces!!

I hope you liked seeing some of my art, and I will see you again soon!!

Elizabeth

Leave a comment